Mmm Turkish.

I’ve neglected you again, blog! So sorry. There has been SO much going on as of late. Finals were hectic, and I was sad that I couldn’t play the new World of Warcraft expansion (yes, I am one of those people. :P), so once winter break came around I spent some time doing that (My warlock is 85 now, yay!). Then, you know, Christmas and New Year’s and all of that holiday stuff.

But now! I’m back, I think. There has been quite a bit of spinning going on lately, thanks to my new Jenkins Turkish spindles!

The one with the pink is my Turkish Delight in Vera wood; the fiber is Louet Merino/Silk (80/20). I received this in the mail shortly before I drove back home and when I got the spindle, I immediately started petting it and gushing over it. The other Turkish spindle is a Kuchulu in holly – is it not adorable? I am so in love with it. I want another, but don’t have the funds for it right now (especially since I broke down and ordered a Spanish Peacock Tibetan earlier… what was I thinking? I don’t even know how to use supported spindles! But it is an absolutely gorgeous piece of work. :) ) The fiber on my Kuchulu is a 50/50 merino/silk blend from A Verb For Keeping Warm in the Taboo colorway. So pretty! So fun to spin!

When I first started spinning on my Turkish Delight, it was SO HARD! Up until then, I’d only ever used top-whorl spindles, haha. But I love how the spindle can be taken apart, and how you make a ball while spinning – how ingenious is that?! Also, the Jenkins spindles are so pretty. And adorable. And pretty much altogether awesome. Ed and Wanda were fabulous to buy from, and so nice! I lust for another Kuchulu, but it’ll be awhile – especially since I also want to try one of their other designs, the Lark.

I realize this post is kind of a complete fangirl post, but I really am so excited about these Turkish spindles. They’re just plain fun to use; I’ve been neglecting my top-whorls lately because I have a hard time putting down my Kuchulu! I have to start knitting some mittens soon and I’m actually sad that I won’t have as much spinning time, haha.

Okay, that’s it for now. Hope you all had a wonderful holiday and new year! :)

This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

