Cria/Madelinetosh!

I was going to begin this blog with yet another apology for not updating in a good long while, but then I realized that’d probably be pointless. I’m pretty sure it will happen again (and again, and probably again) until I get into the habit of blogging regularly (assuming it ever happens). You see, I’m a born procrastinator and also an extremely lazy person; neither of these qualities are much help for blogging.

But anyhow, onto more exciting things: knitting! My “main” project right now is Cria, from Little Red in the City by Ysolda Teague. I’ve been a pretty big fan of Ysolda’s designs for awhile now, especially the accessories and sweaters. Cria is a simple cardigan with a garter stitch yoke and pockets in the front. I love how clean and simple the cardigan looks – perfect for everyday wear! :)

No pictures of the actual cardigan yet, sorry, as it’s still in progress, and there just isn’t much to show. I’ve only just completed the yoke and separated the body and sleeves. So far, it’s been a pretty easy knit. The only difficult part was in the beginning, when I was figuring out how to join the shoulder rectangles to begin the yoke. For the body, it’s a lot of plain stockinette knitting (e.g. TV knitting) so I’ll probably be able to get through a lot of movies. ;)

The yarn I’m using for this project is Madelinetosh tosh dk (formerly tosh worsted), 100% superwash Merino wool, hand dyed in the colorway Terra. I am so in love with this yarn! It is so soft, and the color is so vibrant, with lovely subtle gradient changes going from red to orange to pink (I have a really hard time describing colors of yarn, sorry!). The yarn shows the garter stitch beautifully, with wonderful stitch definition.

When I first started knitting, I stayed away from highly variegated and hand dyed yarn. Some colorways were really pretty, but I wasn’t a fan of how the colors looked when knit up. To be honest, I don’t really like multi-colored knits, whether they’re sweaters or hats (scarves are okay, sometimes); I’ve always preferred solid colors. If there are color changes in the yarn, then they need to be pretty subtle for me to use it in a project. Gradually though, I think I’ve developed an appreciation for certain hand dyed colors, specifically those that are “almost solids.” I still don’t like colorways that jump jarringly from teal to brown to orange, but I don’t mind purple to blue or green to blue as long as the change is gradual. I’ve come to appreciate the depth that can occur in using yarns with subtle color changes – plus, it makes boring projects a little more interesting. :)

Anyway, please excuse that little tangent. I’m really excited about this project, and even more excited about the finished cardigan! I seriously cannot wait to wear it.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cria/Madelinetosh!

  1. jenyjenny says:

    I love that yarn, it’s gorgeous! I have a cream tabby like the one in your 2nd pic, so I had to smile. Here’s a pic of Bob I took a few weeks ago for my blog. http://wednesdayknitting.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/img_0095.jpg I put the cats out on the back porch during my Wednesday knitting because one of the knitters is allergic, so the cats were relieved afterwards to be back in with the fam–

  2. Priscilla says:

    Bob is so cute! :) I totally grinned when I saw that. He looks so much more energetic than my two, whose daily schedule consists of sleeping and eating, hehe.

    Thanks for sharing the pic with me! :)

Leave a Reply

