A spontaneous attempt at becoming more organized

Whoa, has it really been a month since I last blogged?! I guess my plan of blogging weekly kinda broke down. :/ I haven't been knitting much lately; I've been distracted these past few weeks with Kim Harrison's Hollows series, so I've pretty much been reading nonstop. But! I do have something to blog about today, even though it's not knitting. I made a planner!

I toyed with the idea of making a planner for myself awhile back, but ultimately decided not to since I wasn't sure that I would use one. But I've recently been hired at a school district, so I decided to make one yesterday in an attempt at becoming more organized. :) As for why I made one instead of buying one — because this way I get to pick what's in it and how it looks! Also, I didn't see any that I liked enough to purchase.

I bought the planner printables from Droplet. I love how the pages are clean and simple, but still really cute. I also really like that the dates are blank, so you can reuse the printables over and over again! Although, I will admit it was kind of a pain to write all the dates in. :P

I printed the half-size sheets and put them in a mini-binder I bought from Staples. I didn't like how the binder looked, so I made a fabric cover for it.

I followed this tutorial, but modified the size since I wasn't making one for a regular sized binder. I also added one more pocket! The math took me awhile, haha – and the fit is not perfect, but it's passable. :P I have to say, this was absolutely the most haphazard sewing project I've done. I did not press the seams (my mom's iron broke, and mine is sitting in storage in Orange County… :|), I did not use any pins (out of sheer laziness), and the only measuring I did was when cutting out the pieces. As a result, the sleeve is sewn together messily and parts of it are crooked… But hopefully it's only noticeable when you look at it closely. :P

Oh yeah, and the flap pocket is backwards. >_>; I picked bright, cheerful colors and prints on purpose to balance out the dread I'll probably feel once I start filling it with to-dos, meetings, etc. I think it veers toward being too bright and colorful, like something a kid would carry, but hey, like my brother told me, it'll fit right in at a school setting. :p And I think it's rather cute. :D

Aside from the ladybug + flowers print, my favorite part is probably the pen pockets. :)

Alrighty, now that I've shared my new planner… I am off to sleep. (And my cat just pounded on my door to be let into my room, so it is definitely time for bed, hah.)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

